Bad things happen – bad and unnecessary

 

Last blog entry was about the ‘good’ in BI – now let’s move to the ‘bad’! Some years ago I lived in Ohio, and had a rental car hired from the airport some forty minutes north of my residence in Dayton.

Every time I left Dayton to travel for more than a couple of days or so, I would take the car back, turn it in and hire a new one on my return (this is a good way of getting your car cleaned regularly, by the way). However, I was amazed that every time I picked up a new car (which as I mentioned was usually a clean version of the old one), I had to fill in a completely new registration form – name, date of birth, address etc. I simply couldn’t figure out why they couldn’t just hold this information and at least fill most of it out on my new registration form for me. Amazing, but on its own not a real reason why I would stop using this company. What stopped me was something else completely.

Halfway through my stay in the US, I decided to go on holiday to Cancun in Mexico. It was easy – drive to Cincinnati, sixty minutes to the south, drop the car off for a week and pick up a new one when back in Cincinnati, and return home. But no, things aren’t that simple. What I actually had to do was drive to Dayton airport to get a completely different car, drive this new car to Cincinnati and, on my return, go back to Dayton airport to swap cars. Complete nonsense that added a huge amount of inconvenience to the whole journey and made me decide in the end to use a different rental company. Remember, I was renting a car every day for nine months, so you’d think my original rental company might have tried to make life a little easier for me.

About bibongo

I'm a consultant in the field of Business Intelligence and have been since the mid 80's which gives you some idea of my age! I'm priviledged to have held senior positions with Teradata, Oracle, Hp and EMC. I have an English son and a Swedish daughter seperated by some 18 years which is another type of welcome challenge!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bad things happen – bad and unnecessary

  1. Phil Bailey says:

    Hi Jon, I must have missed something here….the BI message is…..?

  2. bibongo says:

    Hey Phil – the BI messages are all over the place – justy imagine if you were the CEO of one of the companies I’ve mentioned – what sort of BI improvements would you put in place to make sure the bad experiences I’ve been reporting on don’t happen? In the example, the car rental companiy treats me like dirt – maybe they should use BI to identify key, profitable customers and give them a better service. Maybe they make this difficult because they obviously dont have a single source of the truth in terms of customer details – it all roles into one thing – sloppy use of customer data – maybe that’s my key point

Leave a Reply

